Church of the Saviour on the Spilled Blood in St.Petersburg
It was built by the order of Russian Tsar Alexander III on the place where his father the Tsar Alexander's II was assassinated in 1881. The son decided to build a memorial church on this spot and to preserve stones and grille of the canal with blood of his father. The Byzantine (pseudo Russian) style was chosen intentionally. The church differs from the rest of European architecture of St.Petersburg. It reminds the ancient Russian architecture of ancient Russian towns. It took 24 years to construct and to decorate the Church. The Church on the Spilled Blood had never been a public church before Revolution. Services inside were held only for the members of the royal family. Public services were allowed only after Bolshevik Revolution. But in 1926 it was closed alongside with many other churches in cause of atheism campaign. After that three times it was decided to explore this church and three times the church wasn't destroyed. The Second World War and the siege of St. Petersburg caused a heavy damage to the Church of the Saviour on the Spilled Blood. It's precious mosaics crushed of explosions, artillery shelling, low winter temperatures, dust and humidity.
After long 27 years of restoration the Church of the Saviour on the Spilled Blood was opened as a state museum. During excursion in the church you can acquaint with the story of Alexander's II assassination and, of course, to see the magnificent beauty of Russian mosaics.
Wednesday - day off
Back to Sight-seeing
Back to HOME